Making a Screamer


Sorry, but this content is reserved for subscribers only.

The $29.95/year subscription helps cover the costs of producing new videos, writing curriculum units, site development, and hosting. Without that support, this site would not be possible.

If you are already a subscriber, and having problems logging in, please check the Support Page.

If you are not yet a subscriber, please check out the Free Stuff page, and Subscribe Now.

join

violetjaden wrote on Fri, 06/13/2014 - 16:21:

I tried it and it didn't work. Why?

The Happy Scientist wrote on Sat, 06/14/2014 - 13:10:

Be sure that your strip of paper is long enough. If it is too short, it will not work well.

violetjaden wrote on Wed, 06/11/2014 - 16:04:

I tried it, but all I got was saliva on my paper. Why didn't it work?

The Happy Scientist wrote on Sat, 06/14/2014 - 13:09:

Hmm. Without more details, I can't tell what went wrong. Be sure to use a big enough piece of paper. If the strip is too short, it will not work well.

RugratsRUs wrote on Tue, 05/06/2014 - 13:39:

It does work and yes I will trie in all sorts of sizes.

remmatjas wrote on Tue, 04/08/2014 - 10:17:

Cool! The first time I blew it I scared my mom! COOOL!!!!!!!!

I'm WEARD!

Melissa Jackman wrote on Fri, 10/04/2013 - 13:03:

I can do the same thing with grass too if you put the piece of grass between your thumbs, and blow... :) thanks for the video!

richardskids wrote on Wed, 10/02/2013 - 16:21:

Me and my friends made these and annoyed our sisters all day :D

floma wrote on Tue, 10/01/2013 - 18:13:

I think I will now be able to annoy all my family.. Lol

huss0331 wrote on Tue, 09/10/2013 - 09:18:

awesome it works.super cool

complady wrote on Tue, 08/27/2013 - 14:21:

haaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaaa haha i cant stop its soso funny haaaaaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaaa

elenaames wrote on Fri, 08/02/2013 - 10:56:

Awesome! that's really cool!

Singinggirl wrote on Tue, 06/18/2013 - 12:05:

Your cat is SO adorable. It's so fluffy and cute. I want to hug it.

Jean wrote on Wed, 08/28/2013 - 18:34:

It annoys my mom and brother and scares our dogs .

Singinggirl wrote on Tue, 06/18/2013 - 11:56:

This is so awesome. My poor, poor family... : )

Oscar wrote on Wed, 05/08/2013 - 10:20:

it did not work

wweiher wrote on Thu, 05/02/2013 - 14:31:

You didnt notice the cat.

homesoulky wrote on Thu, 04/18/2013 - 18:06:

"Sweet! I love it!" (our child's reaction)

We tried varying the length of the screamers and found that the pitch was the same, but when we changed the width, the the pitch was lower. Thank you!

homesoulky wrote on Thu, 04/18/2013 - 17:59:

sweet I love it so much

brevard wrote on Wed, 04/17/2013 - 17:54:

i made it in school it really works thanks

duval wrote on Thu, 04/11/2013 - 14:34:

Nice i will annoy my brother now heee

FCAT wrote on Tue, 04/09/2013 - 10:17:

awsome

FCAT wrote on Tue, 04/09/2013 - 12:39:

I Tried Making One....

huss0331 wrote on Tue, 09/10/2013 - 09:17:

did it work

FCAT wrote on Tue, 04/09/2013 - 12:37:

Awesome

Thekuons wrote on Thu, 04/04/2013 - 19:17:

Cat in the video and in the bloopers! Cool.

herbalparent wrote on Thu, 03/21/2013 - 14:37:

i made the thing just like you said but it does not work
please help

huss0331 wrote on Tue, 09/10/2013 - 09:20:

separate your fingers a bit and blow pretty hard

coldiron wrote on Wed, 03/27/2013 - 15:23:

I found that you have to separate you fingers slightly and pull all of you other fingers awaya so they don't get in the way.
Good luck!

duval wrote on Thu, 04/11/2013 - 14:32:

I found that out too ^.^

flaglerscience wrote on Mon, 04/08/2013 - 11:48:

The experiment is so awesome that I scared my teacher with the screamer and she actually screamed herself.

FCAT wrote on Tue, 04/09/2013 - 12:44:

i like that sound

brevard wrote on Thu, 03/21/2013 - 12:27:

this stuff really works

hssociety wrote on Sun, 03/10/2013 - 11:59:

We found that a 7 inch long piece of 20 lb. printer paper made a lower pitched sound than a 5 inch long piece and that 20 lb. paper worked better than heavier card stock. The 65 lb. card stock didn't vibrate as easily and we couldn't make the same kind of screeching sound. We also tried aluminum foil, which made a sound similar to the 20 lb. paper (same length and width) but was more difficult to work with because it would bend and lose it's shape. This was fun -- thank you!

Selfdesign wrote on Thu, 02/21/2013 - 15:18:

cute kitty!

Anonymous wrote on Sat, 04/13/2013 - 21:51:

This is so incredible I made one that was absolutely EPIC V_V

DustyMags wrote on Mon, 02/18/2013 - 17:52:

please keep making more :D i loke the bloopers the most!

rachelvantonder wrote on Mon, 02/18/2013 - 08:44:

Your cat is so cute!

downingfamily wrote on Thu, 02/14/2013 - 14:55:

I wonder if given different lengths and widths of paper it would be possible to make a tune?..... hmm....

snash6 wrote on Wed, 02/06/2013 - 13:47:

That was really cool! I love your videos please keep making more.

vincent_syu wrote on Tue, 02/05/2013 - 21:57:

I remember u made a similar video a while ago.

samuelecox wrote on Tue, 02/05/2013 - 19:11:

My son is into whiseling and now he may pick up on this.

Zach wrote on Tue, 02/05/2013 - 17:06:

Nice Cat. :)

budgysmom wrote on Tue, 02/05/2013 - 20:50:

Cute cat. Where'd he come from?

The Happy Scientist wrote on Wed, 02/06/2013 - 00:33:

That is our cat Ethylene. She wandered up to our house a few months ago, and decided that she would live here. In the video, she is limping a bit, because she got caught in a bobcat trap. Luckily, it did not break any bones, and her foot is healing nicely.

Anonymous wrote on Mon, 02/18/2013 - 14:45:

Leghold traps are cruel.

rkrampf wrote on Tue, 02/19/2013 - 01:19:

We are not trapping bobcats, but there are hunters in the canyon that do. The vet recognized the injury, and told us that she had been caught in a trap.

coldiron wrote on Wed, 03/27/2013 - 15:26:

Canyon? Is that the Grand Canyon? I wanr there once!

awsyoung wrote on Tue, 02/05/2013 - 12:18:

Great, now my kids will be annoying me with these all day. Thanks. ;)